Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

9680718

Publication Date: October 18th 2011
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 281
Synopsis: The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures. Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

Review:

What I liked
– It had that Vampire Academy vibe which I can appreciate. The VA series is one of my favorite paranormal series and I felt nostalgic going to a similar world. A lot of people said that this was a complete rip off but I can see a lot of differences between this book and VA.
– The dialogue was spot on. There were numerous times where I would find myself laughing out loud and hoped that no one was in the room to hear me. That is what I like about Paranormal sometimes…it usually isn’t taken too seriously.
– The characters were likable. A lot of them were strong, sassy, and even a little bit shady. The MC, Alex, is ‘foolishly brave,’ Aiden is a BAMF, Seth is creepy yet intriguing, and the Alex’s family are all dubious.
– I can tell why people love this author. She doesn’t have the best writing but its reallllly addicting. I felt engross to the story the entire way, and I can’t help but like the author’s quick-wit humor.

What I didn’t like

– I had a hard time being on board with the romance so hopefully I will in future books. It just seemed ehh to me.
– I also had a hard time understanding the world. I get the basics but I wish it was better explained due to the fact this is all based on greek mythology.
– I found myself rolling my eyes numerous times at the MC aka Alex. She is kickass but she was too egotistical (I still really like her though).
– I felt like the story was missing something (I know, a selfish and unreasonable reason…so sue me.)

Overall, most of my concerns had to do with world building and a little bit of the character development. It’s still a fun, action packed, entertaining story that I think shouldn’t be taken too seriously.

I’m not sure if I will read the next books. If I see the rest of the series at a book store for cheap, then perhaps i’ll read the rest.

11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.medcroor

2 thoughts on “Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

