Paper Towns by John Green

Paper Towns

Publication Date: September 22nd 2009
Publisher: Speak
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 305
Synopsis: Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…

I wasn’t plan on reading this but a lot of people I know rave about this book so I wanted to see what the big fuss was about.

I don’t know how to feel about Paper Towns. I enjoy the writing and the side characters were great. The Main Character’s friends is what made me give these extra stars. They had so much heart and their sarcasm made the story far enjoyable. I liked Radar a lot because he made me ponder over my life situations. In the story, he said something about how people shouldn’t try to be mad or disappointed for them not expecting to meet your needs and we should accept people for the way that they truly are. This may seem like an obvious thing to say but thinking about it, I feel as though I have not always been that way. An example of this would be me always giving my friends holiday gifts, but I never get one in return. Countless years I’ve been frustrated and resented them but I should accept that gift giving isn’t who they are. I was raised to give close friends holiday gifts I just expect some back. In reality, I need to realize that they have their own beliefs and personal conflicts, and I shouldn’t expect people to be like me.

Well isn’t that typical; John Green is making me think.

Anyways although I enjoy the side characters, I didn’t really like the MC’s. Margo… I don’t know I just got annoyed with her even though she was absent through the entire book. I think I just didn’t really get it why everyone seems to be so obsessed with her. The seasonings why people were obsessed with her didn’t seem to convincing. And I didn’t like how Quentin sort of idolized her throughout the majority of the book. That was the same problem that I had with Looking for Alaska.

Maybe it wasn’t the MCs so much. Maybe I couldn’t really connect with the overall story. When it comes to realistic fiction, I want something that I can relate too. All the events that happened in the book, I just couldn’t picture me or anyone at my school or anyone I know would do. It seemed like things that people on Tumblr dream of doing but never actually doing it.

I don’t know what to even rate this book. I didn’t hate it but I didn’t love it.

11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med

Leave a Reply

