The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

16069030

Publication Date: March 4th 2014
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 355
Synopsis:As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction.

Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

Review: (Short)

A fantasy world in which the author incorporates a motif of Games? I knew this was going to be my type of book.

Although I felt that I have read similar books, I still found this book to be amazing. I liked the characters, especially our MC Kestrel. She was amiable and civil, but has a glint of wit and spunk. I like how she refuses to accept his father wishes to be in the military but also doesn’t necessary wants to get married. She wants to make her life the way she wants it and not have someone else dictate it.I also loved how she was clever. Nowadays in YA, the female protagonist is usually known for her physical ability and how badass she is. We tend to forget that having analytic mind is also important and also badass.

The only thing that I have to say about Arin is that I want him to make me tea and braid my hair. That is #Relationshipgoals.

There wasn’t really a lot of action in this book,but hopefully there will be a lot more in future books. I’m pretty sure that this book was meant for world and character development, which was understandable.
I loved how it end and I’m looking forward to get the next one sometime in the near future.

11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med

One thought on “The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Leave a Reply

