Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews

192680

Publication Date: August 2nd 2005 (original 1979)
Publisher: Gallery Books
Format: EBook
Page Count: 400
Synopsis:

Flowers in the Attic follows the Dollanganger family (but we are in the POV of the oldest daughter Cathy). They are rich, look like porcelain Dolls and are considered as the perfect family. But after the father dies in an unexpected accident, the lives of this family soon changes. The mother, Corrine and the 4 children,Cathy, Chris, Carrie, and Cory automatically lose their wealth and are forced to leave their glamorous lives to go live with the unsettling grandmother who has a strong jealousy towards the mother and considers the children as the ‘devil spawn.’ To make matters worse, the four children has to hide from the grandfather, who is sick and could die any day, in a room/attic. While the children are in hiding, Corrine tries to win her farther’s love back, hoping for him to forgive her on what happened when she was 18 and have her name put back in her farther’s will to inherit all of his wealth. The four beautiful blond children were only expected to live in the attic for a day…a week at the most, but unfortunately, they stay longer and struggle to survive.

Review:There are some mild spoilers in this review. In my opinion, it shouldn’t ruin the book but I do reveal some a little. For that reason, I put a warning in the beginning of each spoiler.

To be honest, I was expecting to hate this book. Everyone said that the writing was juvenile and the book in general was disgusting. I don’t know if we were reading the same book or not but the writing was quite addicting and engaging. Though the book was indeed disgusting, wrong, and some parts were very difficult to read because it either made me uncomfortable, or it was just one of those ‘I cant believe that this is happening’ moments.

One thing that surprised me was how much I love the four children. Though we are in the POV of Cathy the whole time, you could feel everyone’s feelings and I always caught myself feeling bad for these children because they go through a lot of shit.

SPOILER

The one part that was hard to read was when Chris had to cut his wrist and forced Carrie and Cory to drink his blood in order for him to get nutrition because they haven’t had food in 2 weeks.

END Of SPOILER

Surprisingly, the incest part didn’t bug me at all. Though I don’t ‘root’ for the incest in the book, it was understandable on why everything happens. Before I read this, I was expecting for me to be grossed out based on other people’s reviews. I had to say that they exaggerated. Yes, incest plays a big role but it isn’t as obnoxious and flamboyant that I thought it would have been.

I just want to talk about the ‘lovely’ Corrine for a second.

SPOILER

She is the worst fucking mother ever. To be honest, I hate this character more than any other character I have ever read about. She lied to her children, always tries to make them pity her (Oh why cant you children love me. I am only making you stay in the attic for 2 YEARS AND HAVING YOU SUFFER. WHY CANT YOU ALL JUST TAKE ALL THE WHIPS ALL THE SHAVINGS OF HAIR FOR ME TO BE HAPPY WHY OH WHY) and then tries to kill them because she wants her daddy’s money more than anything. Like WOW. I loved how Cathy smelled her BS from the beginning. And I hate the mother more than the grandmother and that is saying something.

End of Spoiler
I have a lot more to say but I will leave it at that. I don’t really know how to rate this book so I’ll give it a solid 4 stars but I might give it a 5 later. There is mature content so if you can’t take the heat then leave the kitchen. But I would give this a chance because this book is way more than about ‘incest’… its about family, morality, and survival. It’s a book that will make you angry and frustrated but also make you laugh, cry and pitiful towards Cathy, Chris, Carrie, and Cory.

11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med

12 thoughts on “Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews

    1. Yeah, there were times that Andrews became very poetic. I’m slowly reading the sequel right now and I am really liking it. Though, I did watch the entire series on Netflix so I have some ideas on what’s going to happened(I am not assuming that the book and movie are exactly the same because the first movie was kind of less dramatic than the book).

  1. I read this book earlier this year, and I have to agree with your comments about the incest elements. After hearing so much about it and how controversial the book was because of it, I kind of expected it to be more of a big deal. To me, it felt like such a small part of the story. **Potential spoiler alert** I was expecting Cathy and her brother to have a full relationship, based on how everyone goes on about the two of them. I can kind of get why they thought they were in love with each other, but at the same time, I didn’t find it very convincing either. I think there are other, much more controversial aspects to this story than the incest elements, although the one particular scene between Cathy and Chris was very disturbing.

    Totally agree about Corrine! She was the true villain in this, much more than the grandmother was.

Leave a Reply

