Hungry by H.A Swain

18525734

Publication Date: June 3rd 2014
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Format: ARC
Page Count: 384
Synopsis:

In Thalia’s world, there is no need for food—everyone takes medication (or “inocs”) to ward off hunger. It should mean there is no more famine, no more obesity, no more food-related illnesses, and no more war. At least that’s what her parents, who work for the company that developed the inocs, say. But when Thalia meets a boy who is part of an underground movement to bring food back, she realizes that most people live a life much different from hers. Worse, Thalia is starting to feel hunger, and so is he—the inocs aren’t working. Together they set out to find the only thing that will quell their hunger: real food.

tumblr_m8475txNYp1r76lino1_500

Now does this book sound ridiculous? It was ridiculous. But at the same time, it was kind of interesting.

Yes, it’s one of those books where after you finish it you’ll say “What the hell did I just read.”
But it’s a fun entertaining read. It’s also kind of frightening when you think about it since the world is advancing constantly. We might end up in Thalia’s world one day.

One thing I really liked about this book was the world. Even though food is the main concept, everything else is advanced. There are documentaries about iphones…iphones. There are tree holograms and gizmos (basically a device that does everything…and I mean everything). It’s like Jimmy Neutrons experiments has taken over this society.

Though, I don’t know how I feel about the concept of food and how people has to take medication in order to feel satisfied. Their justification was that it was supposed to not just  decreased world hunger but also war? War is mostly about territory, government, rights and pride. Although food does have a role, I don’t think it’s the essential part of war… I think it increases the chance of war actually (the book kind of proved that).
Thalia as a character was.. err… kind of was just there. She wasn’t annoying or boring as much that I thought she would have been, but I cant really explain it. I also didn’t like Basil that much. I found him as a coward and I wanted to punch him in the face about 20 times. It’s not that I believe all men should be strong and powerful, I just wished that he had some courage because courageous characters are easily likable. Basil was just too whiny for my taste Thalia and Basil’s relationship I guess could sort have been insta-love which kind of bothered me, even though there is sort of a good reason why it’s insta-love but Swain does a good job in explaining why it was insta-love which I appreciated. (Thalia could have done much better).

The one thing I don’t understand is why both of the main characters had food in their names? Thalia Apple, Basil? Maybe it’s supposed to be irony and the author was trying to be funny?

Meet Thalia Apple

download

Meet Basil

download (1)

The ending was also rushed and not much well explained. It did end on a cliffhanger. And the epilogue left me with more questions. And I don’t think that there is going to be a sequel. Maybe the author intended that way, encouraging the audience to think about the story and put the pieces of the puzzle together.

The writing could have been better and the pacing could have been constant. Either way, it’s an interesting concept.

11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med

2 thoughts on “Hungry by H.A Swain

Leave a Reply

