The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Thank you Kimsiang @kimsiangthereader for tagging me! Leeegoooo!
A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Colline

It’s not that I hated these books. I actually really liked Catching Fire. However, that was the extent of my love for this series. The books were meh to me because they were dull. Though, I do understand why people love this series: Kickbutt female lead, sensitive boys, lots of actions, deadly risks. I just think that everything came short to me. The movies on the other hand, are a different story…

A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love

  I can’t help but find the premise to be interesting(especially since I am into psychology). I like how the series started, and I like how the series ended. I liked the depth and the struggles that were faced. I liked all the characters, good and bad. It’s the very first dystopian that I read. Although it has its faults, I somehow still think it’s perfect.

A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn people for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Nope nope nope nope nope nope.

A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

Adult contemporary. I don’t think I have ever read an adult contemporary but I want to change that soon. So if anyone has any recommendations on where to start…?

A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Jace from the Mortal Instruments series.

He frustrates me. And it’s not because of his Kanye West attitude. I can’t really explain it but when you read from his pov he just comes off as to uhh dramatic and kind of annoying (okay maybe the Kanye West attitude is also annoying)

A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

John Green is a hit or miss to me. Kelly Armstrong is also difficult for me to get into.

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

It really gets on my nerves when the male character leaves in the second book (now it’s called pulling an Edward). The angst then become so real.  I don’t know if this is an actually trope, but I absolute hate it when a character knows something but can’t say what it is to other people because “it will danger them.” I don’t know, I feel like that’s in all the books I’ve been reading nowadays.

A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

lol don’t hate me for these…or you can if you want. Also since I have no interest in reading these, it doesn’t mean I will refuse to read them. I believe in giving all books a chance so I will probably read them…in the distant future. Also Court of Thorns of Roses is on here because I want to finish the ToG series before I start her other series…and that won’t be for a while.

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

Again, I like the Hunger Games a lot more than the book. I also liked the Chamber of Secrets movie than the book. But then again, COS was my least favorite HP book.


I feel like everyone has done this tag. If you haven’t , then tag you’re it.:)

7 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. I was quite against love triangles – but now that you put it as ‘ pulling an Edward’ I think that is hilarious…now that might be my new book hate because you see it happening SO much!

    1. I used to call it that all the time and it seemed that other people on social media sees it too. It does get quite annoying because most of the time it isn’t really necessary or it’s just frustrating!

  2. Oh my goodness, I’m so glad that I’m not the only one who didn’t like THG so much! Like you, I sort of liked Catching Fire, but the others were so bleh. Everything really was too short. 😐 And Collins isn’t that good of a writer, either.

    John Green is a bit of a hit or miss with me too. Unfortunately it’s been 3/4 misses for me. :/

  3. Fairly interesting tag. Stunned by those big titles that you plan on reading in a distant future though. 😀 By the way we’ve tagged you to do the Midyear Book Freakout Tag ! You don’t have to do it, but we’d love if you’d come check out the tag ! ❤

    – Lashaan

Leave a Reply

