Mini Review: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Publication Date: 1847
Publisher: Barnes and Noble classic editions
Format: Hardback
Page Count: 507
Synopsis:Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity. She takes up the post of governess at Thornfield, falls in love with Mr. Rochester, and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman’s passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed.
With a heroine full of yearning, the dangerous secrets she encounters, and the choices she finally makes, Charlotte Bronte’s innovative and enduring romantic novel continues to engage and provoke readers.

 

Review: 

Jane Eyre was a surprising read. I wasn’t expecting much from this book, since her sister Emily wrote a book that didn’t really suit my taste.

However, Jane Eyre was simple, yet astonishing. It had so much depth, and symbolism that explained why this book had so much praise.


I like the character development of all the characters. My favorite character would have to be Mr. Rochester because well, despite his flaws, he’s silly. He does things that I can’t help but laugh about: the whole Gypsy psych, and him tricking Jane multiple times to provoke Jane to become envious. His entire backstory is complex, and its what makes the story adventurous and compelling.


Jane also has some promising character development. In the beginning, she felt isolated from society because of her social status and her plain looks. However, as the story progresses she begins to develop the self-assurance she needed in order to feel like an equal with her family, friends, and relationships.


When I hear about Jane Eyre, I hear about the hatred towards Mrs. Reed and now I fully understand. I’m not going to say anything in case I spoil anyone but wow what a bitter old woman.
And oh gosh I see why people calls Jane Eyre a special classic because of the surprises. So many twists and turns throughout the novel. It was like reading Great Expectations again.

I think I like the romance because of Mr. Rochester. I don’t know, he made it dramatic with Igram-the “other person” in the “Love Triangle.” Also, their banter is hilarious too. 
The amount of girl power is amazing. So much symbolism. Something happens in the novel that was so staggering that relates to the treatment of Victorian woman, its quite sad.


Despite being a 500 page classic, Charlotte Bronte’s writing was easy to read. Though it took me a while because I felt like it dragged in some places. But I was expecting that and I was able to pull through.
Overall, a great insightful read. I recommend it to people who loves feminism, adventure, surprises, symbolism, and a great romance.

11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med11949860861517980613muffin_3.svg.med

Leave a Reply

