Review: The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

2

Publication Date: 2010
Publisher: Disney-Hyperin
Format: Audiobook
Page Count: 557
Synopsis: Jason has a problem.
He doesn’t remember anything before waking up in a bus full of kids on a field trip. Apparently he has a girlfriend named Piper, and a best friend named Leo. They’re all students at a boarding school for “bad kids.” What did Jason do to end up here? And where is here, exactly?
   Piper has a secret.
Her father has been missing for three days, ever since she had that terrifying nightmare about his being in trouble. Piper doesn’t understand her dream, or why her boyfriend suddenly doesn’t recognize her. When a freak storm hits during the school trip, unleashing strange creatures and whisking her, Jason, and Leo away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood, she has a feeling she’s going to find out.
   Leo has a way with tools.
When he sees his cabin at Camp Half-Blood, filled with power tools and machine parts, he feels right at home. But there’s weird stuff, too—like the curse everyone keeps talking about, and some camper who;s gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist that each of them—including Leo—is related to a god. Does this have anything to do with Jason’s amnesia, or the fact that Leo keeps seeing ghosts?

 

 

Review

What an adventure.

After months of listening the audiobook, I finally finished The Lost Hero. However, for now on, I will be reading the rest of the series is physical format because I think I would read faster.

I think I might be falling in love with this series, despite the fact I only read the first book. It’s surprising because I thought I would like the series less than the Percy Jackson series, since Percy is one of the best male protagonist of all time, and it’s pretty hard to top him. But when I started listening, I grew fondness of Jason, Piper, and especially Leo.

An aspect that stood out to me was the amazing character development. In the beginning, they were all insecure, almost haunted by their pass. When the story progresses, they became kickass heroes and heroins that I grew to love.

Another great thing is that they all have distinct personalities. Jason is obviously the serious one, but he has a lot of heart. In my opinion, Piper is the most courageous one and had the most character development. And then Leo is the humorous one who tries to bring light to all situations.

I’m not going to say much about the world, since it’s the same as the Percy Jackson series. The plot is quite different, and I think I like this plot better than Riordan’s old series. It’s more complex, and introduces a new “race” of demigods, the Romans. I can’t wait to see how the plot unfolds in the next installments.

I also liked the transition between the two series. Riordan makes clear connections between the two and makes the story even more interesting.

I know this classifies as a middle grade series, but I feel as if these are more mature. If you’re someone who reads only YA, I still think you should give these a shot. The Heroes of Olympus series (well so far) doesn’t just deal with the primary conflict, but YA themes as well. The writing also seems like YA in my opinion.

I’m wanting to pick up the next installment soon. I have most of the series, and I’m excited to see what happens. I know that more characters will be introduced, and I hope the are just as great as Jason, Piper, and Leo.

Leave a Reply

