Review: BloodLines by Richelle Mead

4

Publication Date: 2011
Publisher: Penguin Group
Format: Hardback
Page Count: 421
Synopsis:When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she’s still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir – the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir – is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill’s guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the unlikeliest of places: a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. The last thing Sydney wants is to be accused of sympathizing with vampires. And now she has to live with one.

Review: 

When I tell people that I adore the Vampire Academy series, many ask me if I’ve read the Bloodlines series. Embarrassment plants itself on my face, because I’ve never read any of Richelle Mead’s other books. I call myself a proud fan of her work, I call myself a proud fan of the Vampire Academy series, yet I fail to even read the spin off series.

Finally, after years of the first book being published, I read the first book in the Bloodlines series. People tell me that this series is much better than the Vampire Academy series–in which I thought it was already perfect–and I was hoping those accusations were correct.

After finally reading it, I say that this series has much potential to become even greater than the Vampire Academy Series.

At first, I thought I wasn’t going to like Bloodlines because, well, there’s no Christian Ozera in the first book, Sydney was the protagonist, and I thought that the Alchemists weren’t that interesting to deserve a series about them

And Oh boy I was completely wrong.

Sydney has been starting to grow on me. In the Vampire Academy series, she was a character who was just well there. But being in her life, her head, I’ve gained so much respect for her. The character development was just appalling (in a good way of course).

Sydney’s beliefs also serves a role in her character and in the story, She believes that magic is unnatural, and that it defies the rules of science and life. I like how Richelle Mead presents these beliefs. Usually in YA, characters will have these beliefs, but once some hot guy shows them their cool magic, they automatically discard their ethics. However, Sydney is not just hesitant but terrified being in the same room as magic, no matter how hot the guy is.

Another thing I like about the story is how complex it is…much more complex than the VA world in my opinion. New conflicts come into play, such as the new Laws Queen Lissa is presenting, suspicious killing occurring that people are questioning that may not be because of the deadly species strigoi, and the new conflict surrounding the spirit element. Also with all these situations, Sydney has to protect princess jailbait I mean princess Jill Dragomir by going to a boarding school, where even more conflicts occurs. While doing that, she has to make sure she doesn’t get any more trouble with the alchemist…Sydney’s life is a never ending thrill ride.

I know a lot of people who doesn’t like the first book because there’s a lot of filler chapters/conflicts. Although thinking about it right now I agree, I personally never even noticed while reading.

Speaking of the Alchemist, they are quite interesting in this book. They’re harsh and prideful, at least the ones we’ve met so far. They’re tattoos are also fascinating and like how powerful they are.  They are just not about picking up after the Dhampirs after the killed a strigoi, but there’s much more to them.

I’m also starting to like Adrian more. One of my close friends think that he can be my lost twin. Although he’s a bit silly and immature, I see myself in him a lot. I also like the relationship between Adrian and Sydney. I can tell that their relationship is going to develop slooowllyy. I can’t wait for that.

My only complaint about the book is how long it took me to get into it. The beginning was slow and it wasn’t until they settled down at the boarding school that I started to enjoy it (it was only about 60 pages I believe).

Overall, the story still had all the Richelle Mead humor, amazing characters, cool plot that I’ve grown to love. I can’t wait to see what else the series has in store!

offoffoffoff

Leave a Reply

