Book Review: The Golden Lily

hUntitlededited

Publication Date: 2012
Publisher: Penguin Group
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 412
SynopsisSydney would love to go to college, but instead, she’s been sent into hiding at a posh boarding school in Palm Springs, California – tasked with protecting Moroi princess Jill Dragomir from assassins who want to throw the Moroi court into civil war. Formerly in disgrace, Sydney is now praised for her loyalty and obedience, and held up as the model of an exemplary Alchemist.

When a shocking secret threatens to tear the vampire world apart, Sydney’s loyalties are suddenly tested more than ever before. She wonders how she’s supposed to strike a balance between the principles and dogmas she’s been taught, and what her instincts are now telling her.

Review:

Oh my goodness.

Richelle Mead possess this special talent; she can make readers feel things easier than spreading butter. She can take your heart in the palm of her hands and tickle it, teasing you into submission.

Okay maybe that sounded a tad bit exaggerated but this book may it seem that way.

The book was A LOT better than the first. There was a bigger battle scene, more elaborate plotting, secrets that the readers are begging to uncover.

I completely regret not reading the Bloodlines series sooner. It’s probably my BIGGEST reading regret.

Palm Springs is starting to become a paramount spot for our “family.” There’s an ample amount of secrets that were revealed–and some betrayal, and there’s more to come soon. I found myself knowing one thing, and although I was right, it was much more wearisome. Mead creates this “no one is safe” environment, and as a reader, those are the most thrilling aspects of a book.

This series is starting to triumph my love for the Vampire Academy series.

The character development…OH the character development it hurts. Sydney, who before, I didn’t care about her at all, is becoming something special. Mead knows something, something about Sydney, and she’s just playing with the readers mind. I’m coming up with crackpot theories, desperately trying to figure out where the story is going to go.

And this is only book 2 out of 6.

I’m glad to see that Richelle Mead is taking her time developing Sydney. During her entire life, she was taught these specific beliefs and although she’s questioning them, she’s not going to automatically change them. It makes her character feel real.

Adrian.. ohh Adrian. You took my heart. The young Moroi has finally did something that I was trying to prevent. The way he treats Sydney, better than a lot of paranormal/urban fantasy male love interest treats the female protagonist, just warms my freezing heart.

“He shouldn’t have said that,” repeated Adrian, eerily serious. He leaned his face toward mine. “I don’t care if he’s not the emotional type or the complimentary type or what. No one can look at you in this dress, in all that fire and gold, and start talking about anachronisms. If I were him, I would have said, ‘You are the most beautiful creature I have ever seen walking this earth.”

Adrian, you are the most beautiful creature I have ever seen walking this earth.

Okay enough about gushing about Adrian.

My only complaint in this book would be that again, there’s still a lot of filler. Although I do tend to like Richelle Mead’s filler, it can sometimes get a little much.

People tell me that the Indigo Spell is the best one in the series. I hope the world and characters becomes much more complex.

offoffoffoffoffhalf

sign

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Golden Lily

Leave a Reply

