Sunday Recommendations: YA Contemporary

89

 

Yay! A new series. Every Sunday, I decided to give book recommendations, attempting to suit various of people’s needs.

This week, I am going to talk about contemporary!

I’m not the biggest fan of YA contemporary (or any contemporary for that matter), but I did find a few gems that hindered my anti-contemporary agenda.

All these books has at least a sprinkle of romance in them, but some of them has a lot more than others so I made a key:). Also these are my perspectives of romance!

Pink=heavy romance, red=There’s romance but that MC has some other issues, Orange=Very light romance

 



 

Tempestuous by Kim Askew and Amy Helmes

Tempestuous: A Modern-Day Spin on Shakespeare's The Tempest (Twisted Lit, #1)

This is part of a Shakespear retelling series.

Tempestuous is about a girl named Miranda who works at mall food court selling hot dogs. She is in this position due to her being caught in a SAT school scam and has to pay all the damage she has done. One day she, her coworkers, other mall employees, and some mall customers get snowed in and is trapped in the mall overnight. And that is when chaos begins; Miranda’s enemies are plotting against her while being handcuffed to a game and magic store employee. There’s other chaos, but you’ll just have to read and find out.

Although this book is only 224 pages long, so much happens, and the character development is amazing. I recommend this for people who like some adventure in their contemporary books.



 

 

Just listen by Sarah Dessen

Just Listen

Annabel used to be the most popular girl in school, that was until her best friend dropped her, making her become a loner. Furthermore, things at her house isn’t so peaceful, since her sister developed an eating disorder. However, while sitting at the “loner wall” she meets a boy named Owen, who’s mysterious, music-obsessed, and believes in only telling the truth. And that’s where things get interesting.

A lot of people say Sarah Dessen’s best book is the Truth About Forever. However, that turned out to be my least favorite. If you want to start with Sarah Dessen, I recommend this book.

This book (frankly any other Sarah Dessen book) is very based on realistic problems rather than the romance. But a real amazing one develops in this book, that would warm a cold heart. And FYI Owen is Bae.



 

 

Looking for Alaska by John Green 

Looking for Alaska

Pudge goes to a boarding school and  consumes to a whole new universe. He traded his boring life, to one that is filled with complexity and adventure. He meets his roommate, who’s obsessed with memorizing capitals, and he also meets this beautiful unpredictable girl named Alaska. From there on, Alaska brings the oh-so- boring Pudge to a whole new world, like in a fairy tale. But unfortunately not all fairy tales are what it seems.

I know I know. Looking for Alaska is definitely a pixie dream girl book. However, I read this book at the right time in my life, where I felt like the pixie dream girl (minus the boys being obsessed with me). if you can get passed that god-awful book trope, than maybe you’ll find out that this book isn’t all that bad.

 



The Paradox of Vertical Flight by Emil Ostrovski

The Paradox of Vertical Flight

I know I will forever promote this book. The publisher of this book should hire me to be part of the marketing team.

It’s about a newly 18 year old named Jack who receives a surprisingly birthday present from a person whom he hasn’t spoken to in a long time. That’s when all hell breaks loose.

I think it’s better to enter the book blindly (because, well, that’s what I did). In my eyes, it’s perfect. I know some people don’t like this book because of the ample amount of philosophy, but I actually liked that aspect.

THE MAIN CHARACTER GOES OFF A TANGENT ABOUT HIS LIFE AND COMPARES IT TO HARRY POTTER BLESS.

He also talks about Star Wars, Narnia, Pokemon, Greek myths, and philosophical figures. The book is just spectacular, ridiculous, and downright hilarious. I am probably over selling buuuut, it’s too great to not to. This book is also for people who adore road trips!



 

If you want me to elaborate on any of these, I wrote book reviews for a couple, but you can also comment down below and I’ll definitely answer your questions:) Also, is there any contemporaries that I should read?


 

Reviews

Tempestuous 

The Vertical of Paradox Flight


 

sign

 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Recommendations: YA Contemporary

  1. Looking for Alaska is one of my all time favorite novels so I am glad you added this on your list! Wonderful recommendations, Qui! 🙂

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

Leave a Reply

