Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Summary

The first time Philip Digby shows up on Zoe Webster’s doorstep, he’s rude and he treats her like a book he’s already read and knows the ending to.

But before she knows it, Zoe’s allowed Digby—annoying, brilliant, and somehow…attractive? Digby—to drag her into a series of hilarious, dangerous, and only vaguely legal schemes all related to the kidnapping of a local teenage girl. A kidnapping that might be connected to the tragic disappearance of his little sister eight years ago. When it comes to Digby, Zoe just can’t say no.

But is Digby a hero? Or is his manic quest an indication of a desperate attempt to repair his broken family and exorcize his own obsessive-compulsive tendencies? And does she really care anyway?

Review

After listening to the book, I had to take a few days to digest what happened in the entire book. I couldn’t tell if I truly liked any of the character, and my emotions were confused regarding the ending.

This book was ridiculous. The characters were ridiculous, the dialogue was ridiculous, and the plot turned ridiculous. Everything about the book  was pure ridiculous.

Now, that doesn’t mean I hated the book, Since the characters were ridiculous, they kept me engage. Since the plot was ridiculous, it kept me interested.

Lets just say this isn’t really your normal YA contemporary.

Digby, well he’s the main character in the book in my opinion. Zoe is just the girl that allows Digby to push around. I was more invested in Digby’s life hardships, and more interested in what he had to say  To be honest, I think my main problem with Zoe and frankly all the characters was that I listened to their voices on audiobook. They all seem annoying and juvenile.

Digby, well, he’s that friend that forces the other friend to do all these ridiculous things against one’s will. To be honest, in a book full of god-awful boring characters, Digby was the most memorable character. He did things that some people would question, and he doesn’t know what, “going over the line is.” The only problems is that he also doesn’t know what personal space is and that he became a little bit obsessive with Zoe. Some of the things such as

I just Zoe was better. I couldn’t connect with her on any level, and surprisingly didn’t relate to any of her family situations. Which is funny because we both have divorced parents, living with the mom, and have a passive aggressive dad.I think it’s because we both handled things a lot more differently, and so I just couldn’t really relate as much. The only thing I really liked about Zoe was when she would call out Digby and other guys when they made sexist comments and her thoughts about feminism.

“So degrading. For all of us,” I said. “When guys fight, it’s some macho tribal thing, but when girls fight, it’s a big perverted joke. Makes no sense.”

THEN FREAKING HENRY WAS LIKE HAHA GIRLS DON’T KNOW HOW TO FIGHT LIKE HENRY WHO THE HELL ARE YOU YOU SERVE NO PURPOSE IN THIS BOOK YOU’RE IRRELEVANT.

All the other side characters were just too stereotypical and bland for me to even mention

Unfortunately, sometimes I would get bored of the book, doze off, and end up missing a chunk of “important information.”  I think the plot needed an extra umf to it . The ending was kind of open ended and a tiny bit awkward. I think the author was trying to provoke angry emotions but It turned out I didn’t really care. BTW, the way the book depicts school was completely unrealistic…reason why I don’t read a ton of why set in high school.

The book overall was funny, but sometimes, I felt it was trying too hard, making it not very humorous. When Digby would make a comment, I would sometimes think that “wow okay.” An example of this would be Digby always telling Zoe.

“Oh right I keep forgetting that you’re a girl.”

I REALLY HATE WHEN GUYS TELLS GIRLS THIS LIKE THIS NEEDS TO STOP.

I will add again that I WISH I read this instead of listen. I think that narrator was just horrible and the voices were extremely cringe worthy.  I’m pretty sure listening to the book hindered my reading experiences. Also, if you listen to it on audiobook on 1.5x, prepare yourself for constant “he said” “she said” phrases. There were so many of them I just wanted to throw my phone to a busy road, and watch it get crush by cars (I listen to most of this at the bus stop sorry).

offoffoffhalf

sign

.

2 thoughts on “Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Leave a Reply

