Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi

lmao I misspelled publisher oh well we all make mistakes

After the tragic death of their father, Emily and Navin move with their mother to the home of her deceased great-grandfather, but the strange house proves to be dangerous. Before long, a sinister creature lures the kids’ mom through a door in the basement. Em and Navin, desperate not to lose her, follow her into an underground world inhabited by demons, robots, and talking animals.

Eventually, they enlist the help of a small mechanical rabbit named Miskit. Together with Miskit, they face the most terrifying monster of all, and Em finally has the chance to save someone she loves.


 

I liked Amulet, I really did.

But did I LOVE it… not exactly.

I was super excited to read Amulet. It has received a lot of hype and is probably one of the biggest graphic novel series out there. I actually own only the second and third book (which is back at home) and so I had to read this one in ebook format.

It was difficult writing this review. I didn’t know what to say.

It’s just it’s completely underwhelming 

The story wasn’t bad. The fast pace plot kept me interested. I didn’t feel as  Kazu Kibuish was dragging on scenes, like the habit I see a lot of graphic novel authors seem to do.

I do have to disagree on one point that many people think. A lot of people say that the story is dark and unexpecting so when I went into the story, I was expecting that. Unfortunately, I was deeply disappointed. I see why people may think it was dark, but it’s something I see in many stories so I was mostly underwhelmed. However, it is possible that the story might get darker in the future volumes, which is the reason why I plan on reading the rest of the series. Image result for amulet the stonekeeper

There’s no doubt that the artwork is absolutely gorgeous. I loved the color pallets, and I like how I get to see more action rather than an ample amount of useless dialogue.  A lot of  the time, it takes me over a week to read a graphic novel because of the excessive amount of word bubbles.  I like how a billion words are not jumbled in one bubble.

Image result for amulet the stonekeeper

If you like a light friendly adventurous graphic novel about kids kicking serious butt, read Amulet.  I checked out the rest of the ebooks for this series, so expect more reviews about the other volumes to come!

offoffoffoffhalf

 

sign

Leave a Reply

