The Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

Yay, tag time! I was tagged by Beth over at readingeverynight.You can find here post {here}. Thank you so much for tagging me! I love Disney and The Beauty and the Beast (and I’m so excited for the live-action film aaaah).

The creator of the tag: @Kirstyandthecatread

RULES

  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • Mention the creator; Kirsty at Kirsty and the Cat Read.
  • Match a book to each of the songs/characters below.
  • Tag as many people as you like.

 

“Tale As Old As Time”
A popular theme, trope or setting you will never get bored of reading.
Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms, #1)

Power Hungry trope and the Love/Hate Trope

I don’t know why, but I love fantasy books where there’s characters fighting for power, a crown etc. This all began with me watching Reign and then I started seeking out books with this same premise, Falling kingdoms, Mistborn, etc. I also love slow burning love/hate relationships because it reminds me of a childhood ship I used to have from Total Drama Island, DuncanxCourtney. Books that had these are Falling Kingdoms, Mistborn (sort of), Poison Study and basically every other YA book out there lmao.

Dark PlacesBelle: A book you brought for its beautiful cover that’s just as beautiful inside too.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn.

Okay okay maybe I wouldn’t define this story to be “beautiful” BUT perhaps “hauntingly beautiful?” I love this cover and this story.

 

 

10956Beast: A book you didn’t expect much from but pleasantly surprised you.

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides. 

Wow, I really didn’t expect to love this book but it became easily one of my favorites of all time. My senior year english teacher made us pick and read a modern lit book and I chose this one simply because it was the only one I owned from the list. Best decision ever! The book explores the themes of innocence, superficial vision and isolation and I really enjoyed reading those topics. The books was sad and a tad but peculiar, but I highly recommend (I’ll probably include this in my mini review series!).

The Naturals (The Naturals, #1)Gaston:
A book everyone loves that you don’t.

The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Yeah, this was not my cup of coffee. Compelling plot with trashy characters *sigh*. A lengthy review will be up shortly regarding this book!

 

 

Lefou:
Tales from the Shadowhunter AcademyA loyal sidekick you can’t help but love more than their counterpart.

Simon from the Mortal Instruments. 

Honestly, I think Clary is garbage and I wish the series was just in his point of view.

 

Jane EyreMrs Potts, Chip, Lumière & Cogsworth:
A book that helped you through a difficult time or that taught you something valuable.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Jane Eyre was such a beautiful story. The book made me contemplate the idea of marriage and what it really means to both man and especially woman. Although set in the Victorian era, the messages it sends on the  formalities of woman being married is so relevant today. A great feminist read!

 

TAG YOU’RE IT

Megan @bookslayerreads

@jessicamarie493

AND YOU

blogsigniture.png

11 thoughts on “The Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

  1. Great picks for this tag Qui. I do enjoy the power hungry trope in fantasy books and oh if it’s written well I love the love/hate trope in pretty much any book, not just fantasy.
    Also I definitely agree with you on Simon from The Mortal Instruments series. Granted I only read the first three books and this was ages ago but I think the majority of the secondary characters – Simon, Izzy, Alec, Magnus – had more interesting stories than Jace and Clary did at times. 🙂

    1. Thank you! Yeah, I wasn’t a huge fan of Jace either. I noticed this pattern in Cassandra Clare books where I don’t care for the MC but the side characters are memorable and I root for them more. I guess Clare’s talent shines on her side characters more than her MCs.

      1. She does have a collection of short stories with Simon and Magnus but for some odd reason, I haven’t been compelled to read them yet but maybe one day, that will change.

  2. Thanks for the tag! I feel bad that I haven’t read any of the books you picked out! I’ve read Gillian Flynn’s other books, but not Dark Places yet. I need to step up my reading game, lol. 🙂

    1. No problem. I’m the opposite, I’ve read all of Gillian Flynn’s books EXCEPT Gone Girl and that’s her most popular book. I can’t wait to hear your answers!

Leave a Reply

