#Diverseathon TBR!| #ReadDiverse2017 Challenge

Two announcements in one post! I will try to keep this short and sweet.

I thought I would share with you something exciting that I will be participating in this year. I will be taking part in ReadDiverse2017! If you guys aren’t aware of this challenge, it basically encourages bloggers to read and review more diverse books (especially #ownvoices). There’s also monthly reading lists that will be provided and giveaways sprinkled throughout the year.

Naz is hosting this challenge and you can find it over @readdiversebooks  in FULL detail! 

I will also be participating in the Diverseathon that will be from the Jan 22-29. Diverseathon is exactly what is sounds like–a reading marathon where we all read books that promote diversity! On the official twitter, instead of sprints, there’s going to be discussions revolving around diversity in literature, #ownvoices, etc.

Here are the links to the hosts

Christina Marie|Monica|Simon| Mara (instagram host)|Naz (blog host)

TBR

I don’t have the best success rate for tbrs BUT I’m more determined this time (and I only have two books on this list because I feel like this is manageable but hopefully I’ll be able to read more). The only sucky part is that I move back to college so it’s going to be a hectic week but I will be at an airport for 2 hrs and on a flight so I should get a lot of reading done from that day alone!  This TBR is all going to feature #ownvoices books so I’m super excited! There’s also the group book, The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead but I am currently on hold for that book on overdrive so I don’t think I’ll be able to read it this week :(.

Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older

22295304

Sierra Santiago was looking forward to a fun summer of making art, hanging out with her friends, and skating around Brooklyn. But then a weird zombie guy crashes the first party of the season. Sierra’s near-comatose abuelo begins to say “No importa” over and over. And when the graffiti murals in Bed-Stuy start to weep…. Well, something stranger than the usual New York mayhem is going on.

Sierra soon discovers a supernatural order called the Shadowshapers, who connect with spirits via paintings, music, and stories. Her grandfather once shared the order’s secrets with an anthropologist, Dr. Jonathan Wick, who turned the Caribbean magic to his own foul ends. Now Wick wants to become the ultimate Shadowshaper by killing all the others, one by one. With the help of her friends and the hot graffiti artist Robbie, Sierra must dodge Wick’s supernatural creations, harness her own Shadowshaping abilities, and save her family’s past, present, and future.

George by Alex Gino

George

BE WHO YOU ARE. When people look at George, they think they see a boy. But she knows she’s not….

 

 

 

 

 

 

Are you participating in #ReadDiverse2017 and/or Diverseathon? Let me know!

 

blogsigniture.png

Leave a Reply

