Ramble: Rating DNF books(?)

This post was inspired by abookolive‘s video
I never forced myself to finish a book if I’m not enjoying what I’m reading. I used to DNF a book, place it in the DNF shelf on Goodreads and then that was that. No rating and no read shelf. I already felt bad for DNFing a book because as a reader, I thought I HAD to finish books. I also thought rating a book that I didn’t finish was unfair because I didn’t give the book a proper chance and how can I judge something if I never finished it?

However, I think I may have this all wrong. I thought that not rating DNF books was an unspoken rule that all book lovers applied to their life. But then I realize that there are no rules in reading and us as readers shouldn’t reinforce our beliefs or habits on others.

So after much thought and consideration, I decided that for now on, I’m going to rate DNF books. HEAR ME OUT

I’m going to use The Diviners by Libba Bray as an example because after reading 300+ pages, I ended up DNFing (which I was really sad about).

My reasons for DNFing The Diviners is because I thought it was too slow for my liking. I spent almost 5 weeks trying to tackle these 300 pages. The characters weren’t that compelling and the plot never gripped me.

Therefore, I DNFed The Diviners and I was always tempted to give it a rating but I thought people would judge since I never actually finished the novel (almost 600 pages btw).

Thinking now, I think I had the right to rate the book. I pushed through 3oo pages, knowing the characters, the plot and all the other elements, I think that I can review it. Yes, it would be a one star review since I couldn’t finish it, but I had the right amount of evidence for me to state why I didn’t like the story so much. And not to sound harsh but I think it’s the author’s job to keep their audience interested in the story and if they fail to do that, then perhaps they should be held accountable for it.

That being said, it is my opinion and how I want to rate my books. Everyone has their own rating system and criteria on what makes a good books. It’s good to see multiple perspectives on books, even if it’s you’re favorite. DNFing you’re favorite book and giving it a one star shouldn’t affect the way you see the book.

Now, I’m not going to open a book, read a page, come to the idea that this book is garbage, and then give it a one star rating. When that situation occurs, I wouldn’t even DNF it I would PIDRI (Pretend I Didn’t Read It).

I gave The Diviners a rating and it felt good. It’s my bookshelf, my rating system, my beliefs. Rules Schmules amiright?

Anyways, what do you about this “issue?” Do you DNF books and give them ratings? Do you think that there are specific rules that all of us readers have to live by and posting this is an act of rebellion to the world of bibliophiles? Let me know!

blogsigniture.png

5 thoughts on “Ramble: Rating DNF books(?)

    1. Exactly! Pacing too slow, problematic themes, poor characterization are things that makes me dnf books and I put those factors in my rating. Like you said, if a book wastes your time, people should be able to judge it, even if they didn’t completely finish it.

Leave a Reply

