Hope in Nautical Dusk by Miri Castor {Review}

31965913The Gift of Twilight flourishes within Opal Charm as winter descends on Dewdrop. Life was already rough before, but Opal’s got new obstacles to face – getting into high school, bringing her brother back home, and training to protect Athre and Earth from Samael, the mysterious overlord who seeks to rule all, and put an end to her and the Charm lineage. The balance between harsh truths and sweet lies is more fragile than ever.

Yet, as winter rolls on, the balance begins to break as a new threat emerges. Memories Opal once trusted are disintegrating her friendships, and lies are clouding her Path of Dawn and Dusk. Opal must seek the truth while protecting those close to her, no matter how painful it may be.

This is a story about what it means to have hope in the face of despair

 

Review

Disclaimer: I received an ARC copy from the author/publisher in exchanged of an honest review.

So, this was interesting.

I read this book without reading the first one. Even though you technically don’t have to read the first book, I sort of wished that I read the first one because I feel there were a lot of references that went from one ear out the other.

Let’s start with the Positives.

1. Our Main Character! We have a black bisexual character as our MC. I really liked Opal because although she was young, she was strong but realistic, capable but not too independent.

2. The talks about asexuality! I feel as if this book falls into the upper middle grade/younger YA category and so it feels good to see asexuality representation and discussions in these types of books.

3. Aaron! Aaron is one of Opal’s friends and he’s such a sweetheart.

Image result for aww gif

4. The Writing style: Castor has a great knack for writing. It’s not too simple, but it’s accessible to any reader out there. I think young high schoolers would appreciate the story the most since it’s near the age group and it discusses topics that’s mostly relevant to them. It’s fast pace for the most part, however, there’s some unnecessary things that I will discuss later on.

5. Friendships. I just love when authors create friendships. I love Opal and Everon, Opal and Aaron and Opal and Anza.  It’s definitely a friendship heavy story and so if you love those types of relationships, I highly recommend you pick this up!

6. I actually enjoyed the somewhat unreliable narrative. Opal’s memories are all over the place and it makes the plot a lot more interesting. Although it’s not the most original plot device, it’s still interesting because as the story progresses, the fallout is epic.

The Negatives

1. Like I said, I wish I read the first book before reading this. There were a lot of events that I didn’t understand too much because well, I didn’t read it in the first book (like it took me a while to fully understand went down with the whole Samael– the villain– in the last book since it was merely just loads on mentions). Also, I’m still tad bit confused on the whole magic system. I understand that Opal and a bunch of other characters possesses these special gifts but I’m still confused on how everything works. Like I get that there’s sand involved but I wish there was more clarification (again, regret not reading the first book)

2. Opal’s brother constant use of “squirt” irritated me to no end. Like I get that Opal is your sister and that she’s short but using that nickname in every sentence drove me up the wall! If I was Opal, I would have murdered him but I guess that would beat the purpose of the first book huh?

3. There’s A LOT of characters, like a lot. It took me a while to know everyone (I confused Addy and Anza oops!) and it hindered my reading experience a bit. Although I liked many of them, I had to put in a lot of effort to memorized everyone’s name and their significance of the novel.

4. I thought that there were some unnecessary chapters, specifically the “what do you fight for chapter.” Although it was cute, I thought her reason for fighting was already established before. I mean, it was cute, but at the same time, inessential.

5. The writing style. I know I know I put this as a positive but even though its accessible, I still wish there was more substance, more imagery. I was getting told what is what rather than being showed. I felt like that may have been the reason I was confused a lot throughout the story, especially with the magic system.

 

Overall, it’s a solid fantasy/sci-fi story. I don’t think it would be something I read again (though I might read the first book to get more context) but it was still an entertaining read. I feel like this is on the same level as Shadowshaper so if you enjoyed that book, the Opal Charm series may be something to check out!

Note: I would honestly read the first book instead of starting here as it might give you more insight on the characters and past events.

Release Date: March 15 2017

Buy Hope in Nautical Dusk: Amazon

blogsigniture.png

 

Leave a Reply

